Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Full metadata record
DC FieldValueLanguage
dc.contributor.advisorBarrett, R-
dc.contributor.advisorFox, C-
dc.contributor.authorHolter, Colin Kirkland-
dc.descriptionThis thesis was submitted for the degree of Master of Philosophy and awarded by Brunel University.-
dc.description.abstractThe commentaries contained in this volume supplement the four pieces of chamber music I composed in my research toward the Master of Philosophy degree. Those pieces, in chronological order of completion, are It Plays You for saxophone quartet, I Am the Rose of Sharon for six voices and string trio, The Opposite of the World for eleven instruments, and Trying to get the feeling back that I had in 1972 for solo viola. The commentaries aim to establish the cultural suppositions on whose basis these pieces were conceived, the technical and aesthetic considerations that informed their composition, and the strategies by which they advance the author's critical project.en
dc.format.extent379601 bytes-
dc.format.extent519941 bytes-
dc.format.extent528841 bytes-
dc.format.extent221006 bytes-
dc.format.extent51368532 bytes-
dc.format.extent132692 bytes-
dc.publisherBrunel University School of Arts PhD Thesesen
dc.publisherBrunel University, School of Artsen
dc.relation.ispartofSchool of Arts-
dc.titleFour pieces of music with critical commentaryen
Appears in Collections:Music
Dept of Arts and Humanities Theses

Files in This Item:
File Description SizeFormat 
Commentaries.pdfThesis129.58 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
The Opposite of the World.aifAudio50.16 MBAIFFView/Open
1972.pdfScores215.83 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
ItPlaysYou.pdfScores516.45 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
OppositeOfTheWorld.pdfScores507.75 kBAdobe PDFView/Open
RoseOfSharon.pdfScores370.7 kBAdobe PDFView/Open

Items in BURA are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.